A Man and His Dog

A photo may be worth 1,000 words, but professional photographer Hannah Stonehouse Hudson has learned it can also be worth 2.2 million views, 191,162 likes, 108,766 shares and 21,936 comments (and counting) on Facebook.

“My specialty is documenting relationships, whether it’s a wedding or a man and his dog,” says the Bayfield, Wis., photographer. “I have known my friend John and his dog, Schoep, for six years. I have seen Schoep age — he’s 19 now. John lives his life in a kind way. He rescued this dog as a puppy, they have gone everywhere together ever since.”

The following is what Hudson originally posted on Facebook: “This (is) 19-year-old (Schoep) being cradled in his father’s arms last night in Lake Superior. (Schoep) falls asleep every night when he is carried into the lake. The buoyancy of the water soothes his arthritic bones. Lake Superior is very warm right now, so the temp of the water is perfect. I was so happy I got to capture this moment for John. By the way, John rescued Shoep as an 8 month old puppy, and he’s been by his side through many adventures :).”

Within minutes, there were 100 likes. The next morning, there were 600 shares. By the end of the day, there were 5,000 shares. Hudson literally broke down in tears. “I know this is not about me — it’s about a guy who loves his dog — but I am in complete awe that my photo has had such an impact.”

Prints can be purchased from the photographer, and part of the proceeds will go toward vet bills for Schoep. To get updates on the amazing duo, follow them on Facebook at John & Schoep.

Update (9/9/12): Great news: Schoep has received laser treatment for arthritis and will spend his golden year pain-free, thanks to the donation of strangers.  John has also revealed how Schoep saved him from rough times and thoughts of suicide. Click to see more photos and the full story: http://bit.ly/QXF6h1

Source: www.twincities.com

15 Responses to A Man and His Dog

  1. Tonya OBrien says:

    I have this picture as my comp. wallpaper right now – I just love it so much!

  2. gina says:

    i cried ,so much love and trust, god bless

  3. This is one amazing picture, one beautiful dog, and one wonderful man . . exactly what the world needs so much more of!

  4. Jaclyn Spicer says:

    Wow…this is extremely toughing. I have 3 dogs of my own and I completely understand the bond we create with our pets. I have a lab/chow mix who is 8. She will just wrap her paws around my neck and rest her head on my shoulder…..where she is completely content. I would love nothing more than to become friends with this remarkable man.

  5. Diana says:

    There is still love in the world.

  6. Cathy Smith says:

    I love this photo It is so heartwarming to see someone love their best friend so much. .This reminds me of my older brother who found his Dillon in a box near the road.They were together for many years until Dillon was suffering so much Bob had to make the choice.On that day he took Dill to their favorite park and they ate White Castle hamburgers…:)

  7. Peter E. Dow says:

    This is happening in the Lake of the Ozarks and not Lake Superior as this article is claiming.

  8. bquin says:

    God bless John and Shoep – absolutely amazing picture of love…

  9. christine little says:

    This is a really true friendship,lovely to see.

  10. Blanche Pinson says:

    In tears of compassion for one of the strongest relationships that exists: the human, the dog, and the shared devotion.

  11. Bonnie says:

    I pray John & Scheop are well!!

  12. cindy weber says:

    Sometimes pics are better than words. What an amazing shot. I wanted a copy for myself and to help with the dogs vet bills. The link doesn’t seem to be working.

  13. vanassa hall says:

    I am a lover of furry people, and this is so beautiful and kind. It touched my heart…Twice~*

Leave a Reply

